WRCH 3 stock credit Alice Boagey

Anglia Ruskin Orchestra and Chorus

Wagner Siegfried Idyll – Haydn Missa Brevis in B flat

Wednesday 20th March 2019

7:30 pm

The Orchestra and Chorus of Anglia Ruskin University present a diverse programme of music at West Rd. Elgar’s much-loved Chanson de Nuit and Chanson de Matin companion William Alwyn’s delightful Suite of Scottish Dances. The first half concludes with Wagner’s Siegfried Idyll, composed as a birthday present to his second wife, Cosima, after the birth of their son Siegfried.
In the second half of the concert, chorus and orchestra combine forces to perform Mozart’s sombre Kyrie in D minor, which is followed by the exuberance of Buxtehude’s Magnificat in D major. The concert concludes with Haydn’s cheerful MIssa Brevis in B flat, including the beautiful Benedictus for soprano solo.

Elgar—Chanson de Nuit and Chanson de Matin
Alwyn—Suite of Scottish Dances
Wagner—Siegfried Idyll
Mozart—Kyrie in D minor KV 341
Haydn—Missa Brevis Sancti Joannis de Deo

Ticket & Booking Information
£10 (£7.00 concessions, £5 student/child)
Tickets on the door by card payment

Share this event with friends: