210718 CSM

Bach: Cello Suites 4-6

Cambridge Summer Music

Sunday 18th July

5:00 pm

Robert Max (Cello)

Join cellist Robert Max for the second concert in a voyage through all of Johann Sebastian Bach’s six Cello Suites. Little known until they were brought to public notice by cellist Pablo Cassals, they are considered one of Bach’s greatest musical achievements. Robert will be playing five of the suites on a Stradivarius cello dating from 1726 known as the Comte de Saveuse, and the sixth on a five-stringed cello, as requested by the composer.

Robert is the cellist of the Barbican Trio, principal cellist of the London Chamber Orchestra and conductor of the North London Symphony Orchestra and Oxford Symphony Orchestra. He has performed cello concertos with many leading orchestras, including the BBC Concert Orchestra and the London Mozart Players.

J.S.Bach Suite No. 4 in E♭ major, BWV 1010
J.S.Bach Suite No. 5 in C minor, BWV 1011
J.S.Bach Suite No. 6 in D major, BWV 1012

Concert duration is 90 minutes

Ticket & Booking Information
£16, Free for 16 and Under

Share this event with friends: