Cambridge Music Festival

12 Ensemble

Friday 25th June

8:00 pm

‘Spunk, originality and class’
THE STRAD on the 12 Ensemble

Since its CMF debut in 2018, the 12 Ensemble has appeared at major venues and festivals worldwide – from the BBC Proms and Wigmore Hall to the exciting new Hamburg Elbphilharmonie – and been nominated for a prestigious Royal Philharmonic Society Award.

The Ensemble eschews the trappings of both conductor and chairs, lending their performances a dynamic energy that impresses audiences and critics.

The centrepiece of their return to Cambridge is one of Shostakovich’s best-loved works, the Chamber Symphony (originally his String Quartet No.8). By turns solemn and ferocious, with a darkly sardonic waltz in the third movement, the overall effect can be desolate yet profoundly moving.

The rest of the programme looks back: John Dowland’s ‘Old Tears’ were originally written for a consort of viols; the Pulitzer prize-winning composer Caroline Shaw draws inspiration from Haydn minuets; and Thomas Adès’ hushed and wistful ode to Albion closes the evening.

Shostakovich Chamber Symphony (arr. of Quartet No. 8)
Dowland Lachrimae Antiquae
Caroline Shaw Entr’Acte
Thomas Adès O Albion (from string quartet ‘Arcardiana’)

Ticket & Booking Information
£25, £18, £12. Under 18s £8.
Over 18s in Full Time Education £10.

Share this event with friends: