230520 Cambridge Philharmonic

Cambridge Philharmonic

The Sounds of Shakespeare

Saturday 20th May

7:30 pm

Our Principal Guest Conductor Lucy Hollins leads the orchestra through a programme of Shakespearean adaptations, accompanied by excerpts from some of the Bard’s most beloved plays.

Tchaikovsky’s Hamlet Overture and Shostakovich’s Hamlet Suite paint the twists and turns of Shakespeare’s tragedy in two contrasting musical landscapes. Tchaikovsky’s overture sears with a brooding intensity reminiscent of the Fifth Symphony, whilst Shostakovich’s film score – here in the form of an eight-movement suite – brings a visceral modernity to the drama. Something is indeed rotten in the state of Denmark…

In the second half, Tchaikovsky’s high Romanticism combines with Leonard Bernstein’s jazz-infused Broadway sound-world to create contrasting musical depictions of Romeo and Juliet. Whilst the Russian composer seeks to depict old Verona in the opening chorale, Bernstein transplants the story into 1950s New York, with ground-breaking results.

Actor Anna Tolputt
Conductor Lucy Hollins
Cambridge Philharmonic Orchestra

Tchaikovsky Hamlet Overture
Shostakovich Hamlet Suite
Tchaikovsky Fantasy Overture to Romeo & Juliet
Bernstein Symphonic Dances from ‘West Side Story’

Ticket & Booking Information
From £15. Discounts available for students & under 18s

Share this event with friends: