200502 CUO

Cambridge University Orchestra


Saturday 2nd May

8:00 pm

Shall we dance? Wagner said of Beethoven’s Seventh Symphony that it is “all tumult, all yearning and storming of the heart, become here the blissful insolence of joy, which carries us away with bacchanalian power through the roomy space of nature, through all the streams and seas of life, shouting in glad self-consciousness as we sound throughout the universe the daring strains of this human sphere-dance. The Symphony is the Apotheosis of the Dance itself: it is Dance in its highest aspect, the loftiest deed of bodily motion, incorporated into an ideal mould of tone.” Most commentary, both contemporary and thereafter, describes the bacchanalian fervour of Beethoven’s Symphony No.7, and leading Cambridge University Orchestra in this merry dance is violinist extraordinaire Thomas Gould. Gould turns soloist in Beethoven’s solitary violin concerto—a piece not well received upon its premiere, but now considered one of the finest masterpieces of the genre—and CUMS Composer in Residence 2018-19 Michael Boyle celebrates the 250thanniversary of Beethoven’s birth with a brand-new work, written especially for the orchestra.

Cambridge University Orchestra
Thomas Gould violin/director
Joel Sandelson conductor

Michael Boyle New Work
Beethoven Violin Concerto
Beethoven Symphony No. 7

Ticket & Booking Information
£20, £14, £10; concessions: £18, £12, £8; students and under-18s: £5
ADC 01223 300085

Share this event with friends: