181020 CUMS Chamber

Cambridge University Orchestra

Season Launch Concert in celebration of Robin Hollway’s 75th birthday

Saturday 20th October 2018

8:00 pm

Ryan Wigglesworth conductor/piano
Charles Owen piano

Join us for our Season Launch! The Cambridge University Orchestra is honoured to celebrate Robin Holloway’s distinguished compositional career on the occasion of his 75th birthday. The Orchestra is conducted by Ryan Wigglesworth, piano, who is joined by pianist Charles Owen for Mozart’s Concerto for Two Pianos.

In this concert, the Cambridge University Orchestra weaves its way from classic to classic by way of Holloway’s astute reinterpretation of Schumann’s studies for the unusual pedal-piano. We end the evening with Schumann’s great, final symphony, known as the “Rhenish”. From its dance-like melodies to its enchanting contrapuntal chorale to its heroic conclusion, the symphony is a masterful close to the evening from one of Holloway’s favourite composers.

Mozart Concerto for Two Pianos K.365
Schumann arr. Robin Holloway Six Canonic Studies op.56
Schumann Symphony No.3 ‘Rhenish’

Ticket & Booking Information
Full: £20, £14, £10
Concessions: £18, £12, £8
Students and under-18s: £5

ADC Box Office 01223 300085

Share this event with friends: