181027 CUMS Sinfonia

Cambridge University Sinfonia

Shostakovich Violin Concerto No.1

Saturday 27th October 2018

8:00 pm

Holly Mathieson conductor
James Jones violin (CUMS Concerto Competition 2018 prize-winner)

Cambridge University Sinfonia’s season opens with a bang, with a concert full of dramatic Russian music. We are excited to be joined by conductor Holly Mathieson, who brings to the stage CUMS Concerto Competition 2018 prize-winner James Jones (violin) in Shostakovich’s sublime Violin Concerto No.1.

Shostakovich’s “Shakespearean” violin, who references Elgar, Beethoven, Stravinsky, and Shostakovich’s own DSCH during the course of the concerto, is followed by excerpts from the jubilant and comic ballet Cinderella by Prokofiev, including Cinderella’s beautiful fairy tale waltz.

Galina Ustvolskaya Poem No.1
Shostakovich Violin Concerto No.1
Prokofiev Cinderella Suites (excerpts)

Ticket & Booking Information
Full: £20, £14, £10
Concessions: £18, £12, £8
Students and under-18s: £5
ADC Box Office 01223 300085

Share this event with friends: