CCSO Feb 2015

City of Cambridge Symphony Orchestra


Saturday 21st March

7:30 pm

Rossini’s overture to Semiramide is amongst his most admired works. It demands virtuoso playing form the orchestra, the wind in particular, and contains some of Rossini’s most engaging melodies. Although it feels like an overture to a comedy, it actually precedes a tragic tale based on a novel by Voltaire. The conductor will be the winner of the CCSO’s biennial Young Conductor’s Competition.

Brahms piano concerto no. 1 is a firm favourite among performers and listeners. It started life as a symphony, but after Brahms had scored it for two pianos, he opted for the concerto format.

Symphony no. 5 by Sibelius, first performed in 1915, is amongst the best loved of 20th century compositions. For many it seems to paint a portrait of the dramatic Finnish landscape, while at the same time expressing some of the anxiety shared by the Finnish people during those turbulent years during which a world war was raging and there were ominous threats from neighbouring Russia on the brink of revolution. Even so, a note of optimism can be felt and shared, openly expressed in the magnificent hymn-like peroration.

Rossini: Semiramide overture
Brahms: Piano Concerto no. 1
Sibelius: Symphony no. 5

Ticket & Booking Information
Adult £18, Concession £16, Student £8, Under 14 £5
ADC Box Office 01223 300085

Share this event with friends: