CCSO Feb 2015

City of Cambridge Symphony Orchestra

Conductor: Robert Hodge Soprano: Clare Tunney, Contralto: Amy Holyland, Tenor: Peter Harris, Bass: Ossian Huskinson Combined Choirs of Corpus Christi, Fitzwilliam, Girton and St Catharine’s Colleges

Saturday 1st February

7:30 pm

Janáček’s Sinfonietta opens with brilliant fanfares for trumpets, tubas and timpani. These first two minutes of music, repetitive and wildly dramatic, are unique in the orchestral literature, and each of the five short movements has vivid colour and great depth of character.

Beethoven’s last symphony, first performed in 1824, left some of the original audience bemused, others wildly enthusiastic. About twice the length of the average symphony, it still has the power to astonish listeners because of its musical magnetism and the forces employed, which include four soloists and choir. This was the first example of a major composer using voices in a symphony, and Beethoven’s Ode to Joy, based on words by Schiller, is now the official anthem of the European Union. In this performance, the choir will be made up of singers from four Cambridge colleges, Corpus Christi, Fitzwilliam, Girton and St Catharine’s.

Janáček Sinfonietta
Beethoven Symphony no. 9

Ticket & Booking Information
Adult £18, Concession £16, Student £8, Under 14 £5
ADC Box Office 01223 300085

Share this event with friends: