CCSO Feb 2015

City of Cambridge Symphony Orchestra

Conductor: Robert Hodge, Piano: Ugnius Pauliukonis

Saturday 12th October 2019

7:30 pm

Holst’s Prelude and Scherzo ‘Hammersmith’ was originally written for military band, but was re-orchestrated for the concert hall by the composer himself. It reflects the narrow streets and cheerful spirit of a part of London that was a favourite with Holst.

It will be followed by the immensely popular ‘Rhapsody on a theme of Paganini’ by Rachmaninov, essentially a one-movement piano concerto based on a hypnotic melody by the legendary violinist.

Béla Bartók’s ‘Concerto for Orchestra’ was written at lightening speed shortly before the composer’s death in 1945 and contains virtuoso roles for every instrument of the orchestra. Bartók hoped that it would establish his reputation in his newly-adopted homeland, America. It did just that, and has remained one of his most popular and approachable works ever since.

Holst ‘Hammersmith’
Rachmaninov Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini
Bartók Concerto for Orchestra

Ticket & Booking Information
Adult £18, Concession £16, Student £8, Under 14 £5
ADC Box Office 01223 300085

Share this event with friends: