CCSO Feb 2015

City of Cambridge Symphony Orchestra

Beethoven and Mendelssohn

Saturday 13th October 2018

7:30 pm

Florian Mitrea piano
Robert Hodge conductor

The overture to Beethoven’s only ballet score, Prometheus, is often played as a stand-alone item, as it will be at this first concert of the CCSO season. It is an orchestral showpiece, setting the mood for even greater virtuosity in Mendelssohn’s Piano Concerto No. 1. Mendelssohn was the soloist at the 1831 première, captivating the audience with his astonishing technique, described by contemporaries as ‘…a quicksilver touch with fingers that could sing’. It was a favourite of Mendelssohn’s great contemporary, Franz Liszt. Florian Mitrea, the hugely talented Rumanian pianist now living in the UK, will surely create as great a stir playing Mendelssohn as he did with his performance of the Tchaikovsky concerto in Cambridge earlier this year.

Beethoven’s Symphony No. 3, the "Eroica", was an astonishing ground-breaker in its time: around twice as long as any earlier symphony and furnished with a heart-rending funeral march followed by a frantic scherzo. It ends with a monumental finale built on a theme from an earlier work, ‘The Creatures of Prometheus’.

Beethoven Prometheus Overture
Mendelssohn Piano concerto no. 1
Beethoven Symphony no.3 "Eroica"

Ticket & Booking Information
£18 adult; £16 concession; £8 student; £5 children
ADC Ticketing 01223 300085

Share this event with friends: