CCSO Feb 2015

City of Cambridge Symphony Orchestra

Rachmaninov, Respighi and Stravinsky

Saturday 23rd March 2019

7:30 pm

Victor Maslov piano
Robert Hodge conductor

Kikimora is a malevolent witch in Russian folklore. She inhabits any house of her choice and causes continual trouble. Liadov loved the spooky and occult. Here, he gives rein to his fertile musical imagination and we can do likewise as our witch lurks behind furniture, then takes to flight to sow mischief where she will.

Rachmaninov’s Piano Concerto No. 3 was the composer’s favourite and its popularity has grown since it was championed by Horowitsky in the 1930s. Its notorious difficulty has created an aura of fear around it for pianists worldwide. Where there’s risk there’s fun, so don’t miss this stunning pianistic display from the hugely talented Dinara Klinton, who delighted the CCSO audience in 2017 with her performance of Beethoven.

‘Fountains of Rome’ is one of Respighi’s best known works, and the first of three centred on the capital of the ancient Empire. A mammoth orchestra and exquisite impressionist sonorities provide treats to be relished. The same may be said of Stravinsky’s ‘Firebird’ Suite. Originally a ballet, it established itself as an orchestral masterpiece of immense character, overflowing with energy and Russian earthiness. A huge success at its Paris première in 1910, it paved the way for the amazement kindled by Petrushka in 1911 and the sensational fisticuffs that greeted the ‘Rite of Spring’ in 1913.

Liadov Kikimora Overture
Rachmaninov Piano Concerto no 3
Respighi Fountains of Rome
Stravinsky Firebird Suite

Ticket & Booking Information
£18 adult; £16 concession; £8 student; £5 children
ADC Ticketing 01223 300085

Share this event with friends: