CCSO Feb 2015-2

City of Cambridge Symphony Orchestra

Prokofiev & Shostakovich, with Andrew Zolinsky (piano)

Saturday 1st April 2017

7:30 pm

Two works from twentieth century Russia make up this exciting programme. The Prokofiev is renowned for its demands on the soloist, and for the listener it is a thrilling experience. As with all Shostakovich’s greatest works, speculations abound as to what the Tenth Symphony is “really about”. All that is clear is that the work is a masterpiece, deeply felt and many-faceted, shaped by a world most of us can be profoundly grateful never to have experienced at first hand. The ferocious scherzo is featured in BBC Ten Pieces II.

Andrew Zolinsky piano
Robert Hodge conductor

Prokofiev Piano Concerto no. 2
Shostakovich Symphony no. 10

Ticket & Booking Information
Adults £18; Concessions £16; Students £8; Under 14s £5
ADC Box Office, Park St., Cambridge, CB5 8AS. 01223 300085

Share this event with friends: