CCSO Feb 2015

City of Cambridge Symphony Orchestra

Conductor: Robert Hodge, Violin: Patrick Bevan

Saturday 30th November 2019

7:30 pm

Aleksandr Glazunov’s ‘Carnaval’ Overture is a bundle of energy and delight, filled with catchy tunes, infectious rhythms and sparkling orchestration, not to mention a few surprises here and there.

Cambridge violinist Patrick Bevan will be the soloist in Prokofiev’s violin concerto no. 2. The concerto is one of Prokofiev’s most melodic and lyrical compositions, especially aimed at pleasing Soviet audiences, which it did immediately. It enjoys a world-wide following and, like the Glazunov overture, contains some surprises.

Of the 15 symphonies by Dmitri Shostakovich, no. 12 was one of the most popular in Soviet Russia because it purported to be a portrait of Vladimir Lenin, highlighting key moments in the dictator’s life alongside some geographical associations. It includes a number of folk melodies and references to earlier works, to punctuate the journey upon which the listener is being taken.

Glazunov Carnaval Overture
Prokoviev Violin Concerto no. 2
Shostakovich Symphony no. 12

Ticket & Booking Information
Adult £18, Concession £16, Student £8, Under 14 £5
ADC Box Office 01223 300085

Share this event with friends: