210724 CSM

Joanna MacGregor: Grounds and Chaconnes

Cambridge Summer Music

Saturday 24th July 2021

8:00 pm

Joanna MacGregor (piano)

In her second concert of the evening, Joanna MacGregor leads us through the shifting repetitions of grounds bases and chaconnes, including works by William Byrd, Orlando Gibbons, Philip Glass and Turkish composer Fazil Say and his prepared piano.

Gibbons Whoope, doe me no harme, good man
Gibbons The woods so wilde
William Byrd Hughe Ashton’s Ground (The Fitzwilliam Virginal Book)
Phillip Glass (b. 1937) Prophecies (Koyaanisqatsi)
Purcell Ground in C minor ZD 221
Arvo Pärt Für Alina
Fazil Say Black Earth
William Byrd First Pavane (My Lady Nevells Booke)
Philip Glass Knee Play no.4 (Einstein on the Beach)
Johann Pachelbel Ciacona in F minor
Handel Passacaglia (Suite no.7 in G minor)

Concert duration 60 minutes

Ticket & Booking Information
£22, Free for 16 and Under

Share this event with friends: