230218 Cambridge University Orchestra

Mahler’s Symphony No.1

Cambridge University Orchestra

Saturday 18th February

7:30 pm

Cambridge University Orchestra
Delyana Lazarova conductor
Mark Zang piano (winner of the Cambridge University Concerto Competition)

Mahler believed that “The symphony must be like the world; it must embrace everything!” – and his first, the aptly-named ‘Titan’, does just that. Under the baton of Hallé Assistant Conductor Delyana Lazarova the flagship Cambridge University Orchestra leads us on this epic symphonic journey, from the opening cuckoo-like evocation of nature to an Alpine folk-dance, a minor-key reimagining of ‘Frère Jacques’ and a conclusion so thrilling that the members of the horn section rise to their feet. The concert begins with Britten’s virtuosic Piano Concerto, performed by brilliant pianist and this year’s Cambridge University Concerto Competition winner Mark Zang.

Britten Piano Concerto, Op.13
Mahler Symphony No.1 in D major

Ticket & Booking Information
£22, £16, £12 | Concessions: £20, £14.50, £11 | Students and under-18s: £5
Box Office Phone 01799 588 545 Monday to Friday, 10am – 5.30pm
Saffron Hall charges a £2 fee per transaction for bookings made in person and via phone, and a £1 fee per transaction for web bookings.

Share this event with friends: