221119 CUMS CUO

Joshua Weilerstein | CU Orchestra

Petrushka, Prokofiev & Silvestrov

Saturday 19th November

7:30 pm

We are sorry that Martyn Brabbins has had to withdraw from this concert at short notice. We are delighted that the equally distinguished conductor Joshua Weilerstein has agreed to conduct in his place. The programme remains unchanged

The University’s flagship orchestra returns to West Road Concert Hall, under the direction of Joshua Weilerstein. The concert opens with Petrushka, Stravinsky’s unnerving tragedy of puppets, love, and jealousy, a prominent exploration of bitonality, featuring the famous ‘Petrushka chord’. The orchestra is then joined by Patrick Pan, Concerto Competition Prizewinner 2021-22, to perform Prokofiev’s blazing third piano concerto. The concert concludes with Hymne – 2001, a rich, powerful work by contemporary Ukrainian composer Valentyn Silvestrov.

Cambridge University Orchestra
Joshua Weilerstein conductor
Patrick Pan piano
Max Todes assistant conductor

Stravinsky Petrushka (1947 version)
Prokofiev Piano Concerto No.3 in C major, Op.26
Silvestrov Hymne - 2001

Ticket & Booking Information
£22, £16, £12 | Concessions: £20, £14.50, £11 | Students and under-18s: £5
0845 548 7650 Monday to Friday, 10am – 5.30pm

Share this event with friends: