200426 Sinfonia of Cambridge 1930

Sinfonia of Cambridge


Sunday 26th April 2020

7:30 pm

Other worlds, both real and imaginary, are the inspiration for the Sinfonia of Cambridge’s spring concert.

Ravel’s Mother Goose Suite transforms fairy tales into lush and spectacular orchestral pieces. In Kol Nidrei, Max Bruch fashions a romance for cello and orchestra out of an ancient Hebraic chant for Yom Kippur, the Day of Atonement. Piazzolla’s Le Grand Tango harks back to pre-1939 Argentinian dance music, but translates traditional rhythms into a new language. Nielsen’s Symphony No. 4, The Inextinguishable, is a journey into the depths of hidden human emotions, and is an overwhelming statement of the life force.

All four pieces look beyond the present into other times and dimensions.

The orchestra is directed by Howard Williams, with Kathryn Price as cello soloist.

Ravel: Mother Goose Suite
Bruch: Kol Nidrei
Piazzolla: Le Grand Tango
Nielsen: Symphony No. 4 ‘The Inextinguishable’

Ticket & Booking Information
£20, £16 concessions, £5 under 16s and student standby
ADC Box Office tel. 01223 300085

Share this event with friends: