200309 MagSoc

St Margaret’s Society of Queens’

The New World Symphony

Monday 9th March

7:30 pm

The St. Margaret’s Society of Queens’ (MagSoc) proudly presents their Lent Term concert, returning to West Road Concert Hall with a programme of all-time favourites!

The concert opens with Fanny Hensel's 'Lockung' from her gorgeous yet relatively unknown 'Gartenlieder,' followed by Schubert's Mass in G, performed by the MagSoc Chorus with soloists from Queens' College Chapel Choir. The first half concludes with Max Bruch's ever popular Violin Concerto in G minor, performed by former leader of the National Youth Orchestra of Great Britain and Queens' student, Patrick Bevan.

In the second half, the MagSoc Symphony Orchestra returns to the stage to perform one of the best-loved symphonies ever written: Dvorak's Symphony "From the New World." This masterpiece was written during the composer's extended visit to New York, and whilst exploring the new soundscapes of America, the influences and longing of his native Czechoslovakia are never far away.

Hensel Lockung from Gartenlieder
Schubert Mass No.2 in G major
Bruch Violin Concerto No.1 in G minor

Dvorak Symphony No.9 in E minor "From the New World"

Ticket & Booking Information
£12 (standard), £10 (concessions), £5 (students), and free for current students/staff at Queens’
ADC Ticketing 01223 359547

Share this event with friends: