The University is proud to host four resident ensembles at West Road Concert Hall, Faculty of Music. Each ensemble gives a series of concerts here every year, as well as being involved in various music faculty projects, workshops and masterclasses.

Academy of Ancient Music

For more than 40 years the Academy of Ancient Music has enriched the lives of thousands the world over with historically-informed performances of baroque and classical music. Founded in 1973 by the late Christopher Hogwood, the orchestra has since performed live on six continents and recorded over 300 CDs. Under Music Director Richard Egarr the AAM continues this tradition today, and has been Orchestra-in-Residence at the University of Cambridge since 2004.

Britten Sinfonia

Britten Sinfonia, which features a collection of the country’s most talented and creative musicians, is widely recognised as one of the most innovative chamber ensembles in Europe. It regularly collaborates with internationally acclaimed artists, including Angela Hewitt, Evelyn Glennie, Ian Bostridge and Joanna MacGregor. Britten Sinfonia has been ensemble in residence at the Faculty of Music since 2002.

Endellion String Quartet

The mutual benefit of linking a quartet of international standing with a distinguished University so that each can benefit from the association has been well established in the USA and elsewhere for many years. In October 1992 the Endellion String Quartet took up the invitation of Professor Alexander Goehr at Cambridge University to be ‘in residence’ for the foreseeable future. In 2019-20 the Endellion String Quartet celebrate their final season together with a full cycle of the Beethoven Quartets.

Amartis Trio

The Amatis Piano Trio were appointed as the holders of the Chamber Music Residency, generously supported by Homerton College, in September 2019.

At Cambridge, they will work together with student composers to continue enriching the piano trio repertoire.  They will perform at West Road Concert Hall, Homerton College and elsewhere, and be available to coach and mentor chamber groups, ensembles and individual players within the University.

Founded in Amsterdam in 2014 by German violinist Lea Hausmann, British cellist Samuel Shepherd and Dutch/Chinese pianist Mengjie Han, the Amatis Piano Trio today emerges as one of the leading piano trios among the new generation.  The Amatis Piano Trio has an enduring commitment to contemporary music, having in 2015 founded the Dutch Piano Trio Composition Prize.

The Trio performs regularly at major concert venues across the world such as the Concertgebouw, the Elbphilharmonie and the Wigmore Hall. In the 2018/19 season they were ECHO (European Concert Hall Organisation) Rising Stars artists, and between 2016-2018 BBC Radio 3 New Generation Artists.