Sergei Rachmaninoff - Symphonic Dances, Op. 45 – I. Non allegro

Francis Pott - Tandem

55 minutes


Calvin Leung - Piano

Harrison Cole - Piano

Box Office

Free admission with retiring collection gratefully received

Promoted by

Centre for Music Performance

This instalment of the Lunchtime Concert series is a two-piano interplay. Calvin Leung and Harrison Cole play the first movement of Rachmaninoff Symphonic Dances, Op. 45 (I. Non allegro) and Tandem by Francis Pott.

Originally written for orchestra, Rachmaninoff’s Symphonic Dances is a perfect representation of the composer’s later style, full of energetic rhythmic sections and lush melodies. Written concurrently with the orchestral version, this two piano arrangement retains the original expression of the piece, presented through just two performers.

Pott’s Tandem unfolds in three moving movements, each a tribute to resilience and remembrance. From an expansive sonata-form Allegro to the elegiac Adagietto and an energetic tarantella-style finale (Vivo), each note echoes heartfelt tributes. The poignant Adagietto honours Timothy Pride, a friend of Pott, and a cherished musician and community stalwart lost during the pandemic.

more about Cambridge University Lunchtime Concert series

The Cambridge University Lunchtime Concert series offers a vibrant stage for students and local performers. Open to the public every Tuesday during the University of Cambridge term, these complimentary concerts are well attended. CULCs are curated by a student committee and supported by the Centre for Music Performance.

Upcoming Lunchtime Concerts