231101 Clare College Music Society


Johannes Brahms - Tragic Overture

Richard Wagner - Siegfried Idyll


Fanny Hensel - Overture in C Major

Franz Schubert - Symphony No.4

One hour and 45 minutes, including interval


Clare College Music Society Orchestra

Edward Gertler - conductor

Luca Zucchi - conductor

Raphael Herberg - conductor

Alex Carter - conductor

Box Office

ADC Ticketing 01223 300085

£10/£6 all concessions

Book tickets

CCMS present an intriguing programme centering on the trope of the 'tragic', a common programmatic influence for composers of the long 19th Century. Brahms' magnificent Tragic Overture opens the concert, presenting a certain turbulence contrasted with Wagner's lyrical symphonic poem, Siegfried Idyll. Fanny Hensel's C Major overture opens an earlier Romantic second half, with the 'tragic' trope revisited through Schubert's minor key 4th symphony. Four different talented student conductors lead the orchestra throughout the evening.

Clare College Music Society is one of the biggest and most highly regarded music societies in Cambridge. For this concert, the renowned CCMS Orchestra combines with the CCMS Chorus, under the direction of multiple Clare student conductors.