CCSO Feb 2015


Malcolm Arnold - Tam O'Shanter

Modest Mussorgsky, orch. Ravel - Pictures at an Exhibition

One hour, no interval


Robert Hodge - Conductor

Philippa Barton - Leader

Dan Brandon - 'Cello soloist

James Mayhew - Live drawing artist

Box Office

ADC Ticketing 01223 300085

Afternoon family concert: £12 adult, £6 children

Book tickets


Family Afternoon Concert at 16:30
Evening Performance at 19:30

Bishop Rock is a vivid and original work by British composer Doreen Carwithen, inspired by the surging Atlantic around a remote lighthouse. The concert provides a rare chance to hear Samuel Barber’s cello concerto, written while he was on active military service during World War II, in collaboration with the Soviet émigré cellist Raya Garbousova. Less well known than his violin concerto, perhaps because of the immense technical demands of the solo part, the work was described by the composer as ‘lyric and romantic’. In the second half of the concert, interactive artist James Mayhew will illustrate Mussorgsky’s famous Pictures at an Exhibition and the adventures of Tam O’Shanter, musically portrayed by Malcolm Arnold.

CCSO is conducted by Robert Hodge.

more about City of Cambridge Symphony Orchestra

The City of Cambridge Symphony Orchestra started life in 1973 as the Harston String Orchestra. Later, as a result of a change in venue, it became the Barton String Orchestra. In 2000 Leon Lovett took over as conductor and shortly afterwards, the orchestra changed its name to the Cambridge String Players. Under his baton, the orchestra has appeared regularly in West Road Concert Hall and in other venues around Cambridge. In addition to playing works for strings, the orchestra increasingly invited wind players to join it to perform works from the symphonic repertoire. Recognising this change of emphasis, the musicians decided that the orchestra needed a new name and in September 2008, it became the City of Cambridge Symphony Orchestra. In February 2012 Robert Hodge became CCSO’s new conductor.