240427 EA Ch O Dvorak and Beethoven


Dvořák - Wind Serenade in D minor

Dvořák - String Serenade in E major


Beethoven - Symphony No 3 'Eroica'

Two hours

Box Office

ADC Ticketing 01223 300085

£25 adults / £20 concessions / £10 for students & under 18s

Book tickets

The East Anglia Chamber Orchestra is delighted to return to the West Road Concert Hall in Cambridge with another attractive and demanding programme. Under the baton of the talented and inspiring John Paul Jennings, the concert will begin with The Serenade for Wind Instruments by Dvořák. Written for a Harmonie, a popular combination of instruments in Bohemia, the Serenade was an immediate success. Brahms commended it, writing:

“I hope you enjoy it as much as I do… It would be difficult to discover a finer, more refreshing impression of really abundant and charming creative talent.”

This will be followed by the Serenade for Strings by Dvořák, one of the composer's most beautiful and popular works. Written in the same year as the Fifth Symphony, the numerous melodies from this Serenade enchant and lift the soul.

The revolutionary and monumental Third Symphony by Ludwig van Beethoven expresses the struggle and triumph of the ideals of liberty, equality, and fraternity. Written while under siege in Vienna, Beethoven became increasingly disenchanted with his erstwhile hero, Napoleon Bonaparte, and he scratched out his name from the dedication. The symphony is known simply as Eroica and is possibly the most influential symphonic work ever written.

Join us for a wonderful evening of marvellous and inspiring music-making.

more about East Anglia Chamber Orchestra

EAChO has the reputation of being the finest chamber orchestra in the region. They enjoy inviting professional guest conductors and award winning soloists to play programmes that are a mix of the well known and lesser known. Their regular leader is Jamie Foreman.