CCSO Feb 2015


Butterworth - The Banks of Green Willow

Delius - Concerto for violin and cello

Elgar - Symphony No. 2


City of Cambridge Symphony Orchestra

Hugh Mackay - cello

Harry Kneeshaw - violin

Robert Hodge - conductor

Box Office

ADC Ticketing 01223 300085

£20, £18 (concessions), £10 (students), £6 (children)

Book tickets

more about City of Cambridge Symphony Orchestra

The City of Cambridge Symphony Orchestra started life in 1973 as the Harston String Orchestra. Later, as a result of a change in venue, it became the Barton String Orchestra. In 2000 Leon Lovett took over as conductor and shortly afterwards, the orchestra changed its name to the Cambridge String Players. Under his baton, the orchestra has appeared regularly in West Road Concert Hall and in other venues around Cambridge. In addition to playing works for strings, the orchestra increasingly invited wind players to join it to perform works from the symphonic repertoire. Recognising this change of emphasis, the musicians decided that the orchestra needed a new name and in September 2008, it became the City of Cambridge Symphony Orchestra. In February 2012 Robert Hodge became CCSO’s new conductor.