CUO Haydn Easter 24 Main Image WEB min


Jean-Philippe Rameau - Suite from Dardanus

Franz Joseph Haydn - Sinfonia Concertante in B flat major, Hob.I/105

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart - Symphony No.36 in C major, K.425 ‘Linz Symphony’


Margaret Faultless - Director / Violin

Edward Clynes - Oboe

Francis Bushell - Bassoon

Alma Vink - Violin

Doraly Gill - Cello

Box Office

Box Office Phone 01799 588 545 Monday to Friday, 10am – 5.30pm

£25, £18, £12 | Concessions: £22.50, £16, £10 | Students and under-18s: £5

Book tickets

In their final concert of the 23/24 season, Cambridge University Orchestra presents an exciting programme of Haydn, Mozart and Rameau under the direction of Margaret Faultless, Director of Performance at the Faculty of Music in Cambridge and leader of the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment.

The orchestra will perform a selection of movements from Rameau’s suite from Dardanus, an opera which premiered in 1739, challenging the supremacy that Lully had established over French opera in the late 17th century.

The orchestra will then be joined by current student instrumentalists, Edward Clynes, Alma Vink and Doraly Gill, and Francis Bushell, Robinson Alumnus and Bassoon for Southbank Sinfonia, as soloists for Haydn’s Sinfonia Concertante.

Mozart’s ‘Linz’ symphony finishes the concert with an elegant flourish, with a work apparently written in just four days while Mozart was visiting Linz in 1783. Under Margaret’s direction, the orchestra, containing natural trumpet and horns, will approach the programme with a historically informed approach.

more about Cambridge University Orchestra

Cambridge University Orchestra is the University’s flagship orchestra, performing the most ambitious repertoire with world-class professional conductors and exceptional student and professional soloists.