231028 CMP CUO Tobia Nava


Lindström - The Lost Clown

Martinů - Concerto for Oboe and Small Orchestra, H. 353


Beethoven - Symphony No. 4 in B♭ major, Op. 60

Approx. 2 hours


Cambridge University Orchestra

Alice Farnham - conductor

Jenny Ryan - oboe

Box Office

Saffron Hall Box Office Phone 01799 588 545 Monday to Friday, 10am – 5.30pm

£25, £18, £12 | Concessions: £22.50, £16, £10 | Cambridge University Students: £5

Book tickets

Promoted by

Centre for Music Performance

In their first concert of the 2023-24 academic year, the Cambridge University Orchestra brings you an evening of genial gems. This performance will be led by one of Britain's foremost conductors, Alice Farnham. The performance commences with Emmy Lindström's captivating The Lost Clown, a reflection of Arnold Schönberg’s Pierrot Lunaire.

Next is the evocative Concerto for Oboe and Small Orchestra by Bohuslav Martinů. This concerto was influenced by Igor Stravinsky, including a quotation from the ballet Petrushka, which tells the story of the loves and jealousies of three puppets. 2022-23 Concerto Competition runner-up and St John's College student, Jenny Ryan, is the soloist.

The concert concludes with Beethoven's joyful Symphony No. 4 in B♭ major. In essence, a classic Beethoven Symphony, but with smaller forces and concluding with an energetic and comical finale.

more about Cambridge University Orchestra

Cambridge University Orchestra is the University’s flagship orchestra, performing the most ambitious repertoire with world-class professional conductors and exceptional student and professional soloists.