230218 Cambridge University Orchestra


Britten - Piano Concerto, Op.13

Mahler - Symphony No.1 in D major


Cambridge University Orchestra

Delyana Lazarova - conductor

Mark Zang - piano (winner of the Cambridge University Concerto Competition)

Box Office

Box Office Phone 01799 588 545 Monday to Friday, 10am – 5.30pm Saffron Hall charges a £2 fee per transaction for bookings made in person and via phone, and a £1 fee per transaction for web bookings.

£22, £16, £12 | Concessions: £20, £14.50, £11 | Students and under-18s: £5

Book tickets

Promoted by

Centre for Music Performance

Mahler believed that “The symphony must be like the world; it must embrace everything!” – and his first, the aptly-named ‘Titan’, does just that. Under the baton of Hallé Assistant Conductor Delyana Lazarova the flagship Cambridge University Orchestra leads us on this epic symphonic journey, from the opening cuckoo-like evocation of nature to an Alpine folk-dance, a minor-key reimagining of ‘Frère Jacques’ and a conclusion so thrilling that the members of the horn section rise to their feet. The concert begins with Britten’s virtuosic Piano Concerto, performed by brilliant pianist and this year’s Cambridge University Concerto Competition winner Mark Zang.

more about Cambridge University Orchestra

Cambridge University Orchestra is the University’s flagship orchestra, performing the most ambitious repertoire with world-class professional conductors and exceptional student and professional soloists.