221119 CUMS CUO


Stravinsky - Petrushka (1947 version)

Prokofiev - Piano Concerto No.3 in C major, Op.26

Silvestrov - Hymne - 2001


Cambridge University Orchestra

Joshua Weilerstein - conductor

Patrick Pan - piano

Max Todes - assistant conductor

Box Office

0845 548 7650 Monday to Friday, 10am – 5.30pm

£22, £16, £12 | Concessions: £20, £14.50, £11 | Students & under-18s: £5

Book tickets

We are sorry that Martyn Brabbins has had to withdraw from this concert at short notice. We are delighted that the equally distinguished conductor Joshua Weilerstein has agreed to conduct in his place. The programme remains unchanged.

The university’s flagship orchestra returns to West Road Concert Hall, under the direction of Martyn Brabbins, Music Director of the English National Opera. The concert opens with Petrushka, Stravinsky’s unnerving tragedy of puppets, love, and jealousy, a prominent exploration of bitonality, featuring the famous ‘Petrushka chord’. The orchestra is then joined by Patrick Pan, Concerto Competition Prizewinner 2021-22, to perform Prokofiev’s blazing third piano concerto. The concert concludes with Hymne – 2001, a rich, powerful work by contemporary Ukrainian composer Valentyn Silvestrov.

more about Cambridge University Orchestra

Cambridge University Orchestra is the University’s flagship orchestra, performing the most ambitious repertoire with world-class professional conductors and exceptional student and professional soloists.