Prokofiev/Pletnev - Suite from Cinderella


Isaac Sebenius - piano

Tammas Slater - piano

Box Office

Free admission with retiring donations gratefully received.

Promoted by

Centre for Music Performance

Isaac Sebenius and Tammas Slater have been playing together as a piano duet for two years as part of the Instrumental Awards for Chamber Music Scheme. The duo present Prokofiev's Cinderella, his seventh and penultimate ballet. The ballet was premiered at the Bolshoi Theatre in St Petersburg in the aftermath of the war. The decimation of the city was depicted in Shostakovich's 7th Symphony, which had an influence of Prokofiev. Prokofiev supplants the heroics and grandeur of Shostakovich's earlier Symphony with melodic and nostalgically Russophone Romantic lushness, though Prokofiev's steely, sardonic side is never far away, and emphasised in this arrangement of the orchestral score for two pianos by Mikhail Pletnev.