231114 St Catharines College Music Society
Image © St Catharine's College


Sergei Rachmaninoff - Piano Concerto No.2 Op.18


Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky - Symphony No.2 in C minor Op.17

Approximately 100 minutes


Rhys Lewis - conductor

Ashwin Tennant - piano

SCCMS Orchestra

Box Office

ADC Ticketing 01223 300085

£10 adult, £5 concessions, £5 students

Book tickets

St Catharine's College Music Society presents a thrilling programme of great Russian Romantic works featuring a talented student conductor and soloist.

Featuring a richly orchestrated score and virtuosic piano solos, Rachmaninoff's masterful Piano Concerto No.2 embodies the essence of late Romanticism, taking the listener on an emotional journey from introspection to triumph. Tchaikovsky's 'Little Russian' Symphony, from its folk-inspired themes to its triumphant Finale, is a vibrant showcase of Ukrainian musical tradition in which the composer showcases his mastery of crafting orchestral melodies.

more about St Catharine's College Music Society

St Catharine's College Music Society is one of the most active music societies in Cambridge. We hold regular events in College that cater for as many musical tastes as possible.