CCSO Feb 2015


Dora Pejačević - Overture in D

Maurice Ravel - Piano Concerto


Sergei Prokofiev - Symphony no. 5

Approximately 2 hours including interval


Robert Hodge - Conductor

Philippa Barton - Leader

Juanjo Blázquez - Piano Soloist

Box Office

ADC Ticketing 01223 300085

£20 adult, £10 student, £6 under 14

Book tickets

The City of Cambridge Symphony Orchestra

The City of Cambridge Symphony Orchestra will be playing under its regular conductor Robert Hodge. The piano soloist in the Ravel concerto is Juanjo Blázquez, who delighted his Cambridge audience last year with his sparkling performance of the Gershwin piano concerto.

Dora Pejačević’s Overture in D minor showcases her late Romantic style, with Impressionist harmonies and lush orchestral colours.

Ravel’s Piano Concerto certainly fulfils his ideas of what a concerto should be – ‘light-hearted and brilliant, not aiming at profundity or dramatic effects’. With influences from jazz and blues, Spanish folk music, and featuring a sublime Adagio, this concerto is a delight.

Prokofiev’s 5th symphony was written in the Soviet Union as the Second World War was raging. He wrote that it was intended as ‘a hymn to free and happy Man, to his strength, his generosity, and his pure and noble spirit’. Inspiring sentiments, indeed. Full of memorable melodies, with Prokofiev’s instantly recognisable orchestral sound and character, the symphony was very well received at its premiere in 1945 and has remained one of his most popular works.

more about City of Cambridge Symphony Orchestra

The City of Cambridge Symphony Orchestra started life in 1973 as the Harston String Orchestra. Later, as a result of a change in venue, it became the Barton String Orchestra. In 2000 Leon Lovett took over as conductor and shortly afterwards, the orchestra changed its name to the Cambridge String Players. Under his baton, the orchestra has appeared regularly in West Road Concert Hall and in other venues around Cambridge. In addition to playing works for strings, the orchestra increasingly invited wind players to join it to perform works from the symphonic repertoire. Recognising this change of emphasis, the musicians decided that the orchestra needed a new name and in September 2008, it became the City of Cambridge Symphony Orchestra. In February 2012 Robert Hodge became CCSO’s new conductor.