220730 Cambridge Summer Music


Franz Schubert - Octet in F major D. 803

Ludwig van Beethoven - Septet in Eb major Op. 20


Matthew Denton - violin

Laura Samuel - violin

Rachel Roberts - viola

Richard Jenkinson - cello

Tim Gibbs - double bass

Michael Collins - clarinet

Robin O’Neill - bassoon

Alberto Menéndez Escribano - horn

Box Office

£20, £26, plus booking fee. (8-25 years free)

Book tickets

Promoted by

Cambridge Summer Music

Schubert’s glorious Octet composed in 1824 about the same time as his Death and the Maiden quartet, contains some of his most engaging music. It was inspired by the second work in the programme, Beethoven’s Septet of 1800. Both works require a combination of strings and wind, and the prominence given to the clarinet and other wind instruments was innovative at the time. This is a rare opportunity to hear both masterpieces played together by one of the country’s most exciting new ensembles.

The Wigmore Soloists is a new chamber ensemble of outstanding musicians, who give regular concerts at Wigmore Hall and in other major venues around the world. The ensemble plays repertoire both old and new, and commissions leading composers to expand upon the extensive catalogue of chamber music works. With a core line-up of string quintet, wind quintet and piano artists, the group is dedicated to revitalising great works at the highest level.