231118 CMP CUO Akihito
Image © Sono Taneda


Berlioz - Le Carnaval Romain (overture), Op.9

Tchaikovsky - Piano Concerto No.1, Op.23

Poulenc - Sinfonietta, FP 141

Approx. 100 mins


Cambridge University Orchestra

Jac van Steen - conductor

Akihito Ohuda - piano

Box Office

Saffron Hall Box Office Phone 01799 588 545 Monday to Friday, 10am – 5.30pm

£25, £18, £12 | Concessions: £22.50, £16, £10 | Cambridge University Students: £5

Book tickets

Promoted by

Centre for Music Performance

Acclaimed conductor Jac van Steen returns to conduct the Cambridge University Orchestra in a dynamic programme.

Kicking off the performance is Le Carnaval Romain, an effervescent overture inspired by Berlioz's own operatic misadventure, Benvenuto Cellini. A jubilant burst of orchestral colours, the overture commences with a spirited 14th-century Italian dance rhythm that swirls into a climax of euphoria.

Akihito Ohuda, the winner of the 2019-20 Concerto Competition, takes to the stage to perform Tchaikovsky's magisterial first Piano Concerto. The piece is a gem revered by both classical aficionados and pop culture audiences alike. The concerto begins with arresting chords, unfolding into a lively dialogue between piano and orchestra. While hailed as a tour de force of the piano repertoire, its melodies remain delightfully hummable.

Poulenc's Sinfonietta is a tapestry of dance rhythms interwoven with the composer's signature wit and charm. This orchestral gem promises an invigorating blend of movement and musical brilliance.

more about Cambridge University Orchestra

Cambridge University Orchestra is the University’s flagship orchestra, performing the most ambitious repertoire with world-class professional conductors and exceptional student and professional soloists.