221129 CUMS CUWO


Ireland - Downland Suite

Copland - Quiet City

Gershwin - Rhapsody in Blue

Ellerby - Venetian Spells

Holst - Hammersmith

Hart - Cartoon


Cambridge University Wind Orchestra

Tammas Slater - conductor

Box Office

0845 548 7650 Monday to Friday, 10am – 5.30pm

£14 | Concessions: £12 | Students and under-18s: £3

Book tickets

With conductor Tammas Slater, Cambridge University Wind Orchestra present an animated programme taking the audience on a musical journey through the countryside and city settings. Beginning with Ireland’s Downland Suite, a bucolic tribute to the Sussex Downs, we then move to the metropolis with Copland’s haunting Quiet City. Remaining in the Big Apple, CUWO presents Gershwin’s iconic Rhapsody in Blue, a piece which has become indelibly associated with the New York Jazz Age. The programme then transports us to Italy, with Ellerby’s Venetian Spells, and to the river and bustling crowds of London, in Holst’s Hammersmith. The programme concludes with Paul Hart’s witty and raucous homage to cartoon music.

more about Cambridge University Wind Orchestra

Cambridge University Wind Orchestra (CUWO) is a high-standard ensemble that performs a wide variety of works from concert band standards to popular film music and orchestral transcriptions.