220319 Cambridge Philharmonic


Vaughan Williams - Dona Nobis Pacem

Sibelius - Symphony No 2


Alison Rose - soprano

Tristan Hambleton - bass-baritone

Harry Sever - conductor

Cambridge Philharmonic Orchestra & Chorus

Box Office

TicketSource: 0333 666 3366 (booking fee applies)

From £12. Concessions (students & under-18s): £10

Book tickets

In 1901 Sibelius travelled from his home in Finland to the mountains of northern Italy, where he penned the first notes of his Second Symphony, inspired both by the dramatic landscape and by the story of Don Juan. It is a thrillingly dramatic work that combines the passion and fire of Italy with Sibelius’ uniquely Scandinavian sound.

2022 marks the 150th anniversary of the birth of Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872-1958) and Cambridge Philharmonic is joining national celebrations led by the Vaughan Williams Charitable Trust under the banner of #VW150. As one of the great composers of the twentieth century, his extraordinary impact on British music cannot be underestimated.

‘I have seldom heard anything that is more English’. So wrote Sibelius to Ralph Vaughan Williams, who had dedicated his Fifth Symphony to his Finnish idol. The cantata Dona Nobis Pacem sets text from the mass alongside poems by Walt Whitman and a speech by John Bright. Foreshadowing the outset of WWII, it is an impassioned cry against the futility of war, and one of Vaughan Williams’ crowning choral works.

more about Cambridge Philharmonic

Cambridge Philharmonic is one of the oldest and most distinguished music societies, being founded in 1887, drawing auditioned musicians and a large chorus from in and around the Cambridge area. Under the direction of Music Director, Harry Sever, Cambridge Philharmonic performs a wide range of repertoire as part of its annual concert series, including an opera, family concert, classical and contemporary works. Find out more at cambridgephilharmonic.com