230506 CUO


György Ligeti - ‘Allegro con spirito’ and ‘Rubato Lamentoso’ from 6 Bagatelles for Wind Quintet

Jean-Féry Rebel - extracts from Les élémens

Caroline Shaw - Entr’acte

Nico Muhly - Motion

Edmund Finnis - The Centre is Everywhere

Joseph Haydn - Symphony No.104 ‘London’


Cambridge University Orchestra

Alexandra Wood - director/violin

Millie Clark - flute (Wind Quintet)

Jessica Ellis - oboe (Wind Quintet)

Iona Salter - clarinet (Wind Quintet)

Daniel Blaze - horn (Wind Quintet)

Francis Bamford - bassoon (Wind Quintet)

Jacqueline Seki - violin (Delfas Quintet)

Alma Vink - violin/viola (Delfas Quintet)

Daphne Delfas - violin/viola (Delfas Quintet)

Doraly Gill - cello (Delfas Quintet)

Lilly Vadeneaux - piano (Delfas Quintet)

Box Office

Box Office Phone 01799 588 545 Monday to Friday, 10am – 5.30pm Saffron Hall charges a £2 fee per transaction for bookings made in person and via phone, and a £1 fee per transaction for web bookings.

£22, £16, £12 | Concessions: £20, £14.50, £11 | Students and under-18s: £5

Book tickets

For the last time in the 2022-23 season, Cambridge University Orchestra takes to the stage in West Road Concert Hall with celebrated violinist, Alexandra Wood. Alexandra will lead the University’s flagship orchestra and top ensembles from the Instrumental Awards Scheme for Chamber Music, directing from the violin in a unique take on the standard orchestral format.

This chamber concert brings together some of the most fascinating works from different epochs. From the whimsical and spirited Ligeti to the enigmatic and evocative sounds of Les élémens, plus contemporary works from some of the most visionary composers of our time, Nico Muhly, Caroline Shaw, and Edmund Finnis, this concert pushes the boundaries of musical expression, blending tradition with innovation. The concert concludes with a masterpiece of the classical symphonic form, Haydn’s Symphony No.104. The composer’s last symphony, it retains the epithet ‘London’ honouring its crowning place among 12 magnificent works that the composer wrote during his time in the capital.

more about Cambridge University Orchestra

Cambridge University Orchestra is the University’s flagship orchestra, performing the most ambitious repertoire with world-class professional conductors and exceptional student and professional soloists.